- What the CTD Credential Is
- Who Issues It and How It Changed in 2020
- Inside the Four-Hour Practical Exam
- The 21 Assessed Capabilities
- Eligibility and Recommended Experience
- Registration, Delivery and Exam-Day Rules
- Scoring, Pass Rate and Cost Questions
- Validity and Renewal
- Who Benefits and What the Evidence Says
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CTD means Certified TestStand Developer, issued by National Instruments (NI) and verified through hands-on TestStand sequence development.
- Since April 30, 2020, the exam is a four-hour performance-based practical, not a multiple-choice test.
- The passing score is 70%, and the preparation guide allocates 100 points to Functionality.
- There are no formal prerequisites, but NI recommends 12-18 months building medium- to large-scale TestStand applications.
What the CTD Credential Is
CTD stands for Certified TestStand Developer. It is a professional credential from National Instruments that verifies you can build working test sequences in NI TestStand, the test-management environment used to organize, sequence and execute automated tests in manufacturing and validation settings. If you are searching for the meaning of the acronym itself, our short explainers on what CTD stands for and what CTD is cover the basics. This article goes deeper into how the credential works.
The key point: the credential tests doing, not recalling. A candidate is handed a specification, works inside TestStand, and delivers a functioning submission. That makes CTD closer to a skills demonstration than a knowledge quiz, and it shapes everything about how you should prepare.
Who Issues It and How It Changed in 2020
The governing body is National Instruments Corporation. The issuer's credential page confirms that the exam changed to a four-hour performance-based format on April 30, 2020. Before that change, many candidates encountered a question-based test. That history still muddies the search results: a number of third-party sites sell multiple-choice "practice exams" and "exam questions" that resemble the former style rather than the current practical.
NI's preparation guide, titled Certified TestStand Developer Exam Preparation Guide, specifies TestStand 2019 or later. One housekeeping note worth knowing: the guide file is named with 2020 yet retains an older copyright footer and some inconsistent CTD/CTA/CLD labels. When labels conflict, the Certified TestStand Developer title and the exam context control. No newer blueprint than this guide was verified, so treat it as the working reference and re-check NI's pages before you book.
For a broader orientation to the credential, see our overview pages on CTD certification and what CTD certification is.
Inside the Four-Hour Practical Exam
The assessment is practical TestStand sequence development, including completing and packaging your submission. Because it is task-based, there is no fixed question count and no scored/unscored item split. Anyone quoting "number of questions" for the current exam is describing something other than the current format.
What the environment looks like
- NI-provided virtual machine: The VM contains the required software and exam files, so you are not relying on your own workstation configuration.
- Simulated hardware: Supplied LabVIEW driver libraries simulate instruments. No external hardware is part of the task.
- Permitted resources: Built-in TestStand Help, examples and templates are allowed. Externally prepared VIs and outside resources are prohibited.
- Exam-environment tools: The calculator and notepad supplied in the exam environment are permitted.
- Submission: You must complete and save your work within the four-hour period and follow the current exam pack's packaging instructions. The preparation guide names a packaging utility, CTD_StudentZipUp.exe, but the instructions in your actual exam pack govern.
- Grading time: Practical submissions can take up to four weeks to grade, so do not expect an instant result.
The sample exam
NI publishes an official sample-exam ZIP linked from its preparation materials. Candidate forum discussions identify the SP25 Solar Panel sample and note demand for additional practice material. Those threads are candidate experiences, not issuer policy, but they reflect a real gap: there are few official practice projects. Working through the sample under a four-hour timer is the closest thing to a rehearsal. For a structured approach, see the CTD study guide, and for a practice-oriented starting point visit the main practice test site.
The 21 Assessed Capabilities
NI's preparation guide lists the top-level capabilities assessed under Exam Topics. We present them as 21 domain lines. Note the important caveat: these are unweighted official practical objectives. Individual topic percentages and a highest-weighted topic are unpublished, and 21 is the number of supported headings, not a separately declared official domain count. Never trust a site that gives you exact percentage weights per domain.
For a detailed walk-through of each area, read CTD Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 21 Content Areas. Here is how the objectives cluster into practical work.
Code-module integration (Domains 1-3, 20)
This cluster is about the boundary between TestStand and the code that does the measuring.
- Call LabVIEW code modules from sequence steps.
- Pass custom data types to and from code modules without breaking type definitions.
- Manage shared memory between TestStand and code modules.
- Execute simple code modules in parallel and understand how that changes sequence behavior.
Data structures and variable scope (Domains 4, 9, 10, 11)
Choosing where data lives is a recurring design decision.
- Create custom data types that model your unit under test or measurement sets.
- Proper use of parameters for passing data into subsequences.
- Proper use of local variables for data private to a sequence.
- Proper use of FileGlobal variables for data shared across sequences in a file.
Customization through callbacks (Domains 5, 6)
TestStand lets you override default behavior at defined hook points.
- Override and use model callbacks to alter process-model behavior.
- Override and use engine callbacks to respond to engine-level events.
Sequence structure and flow (Domains 8, 12, 13, 14, 15, 21)
This is the day-to-day craft of sequence building.
- Call a sub-sequence for reuse and modularity.
- Use two or more different test step types (for example Pass/Fail, Numeric, String) appropriately.
- Use three or more different non-code-module step types (for example Wait, Flow, Property Loader).
- Proper use of step groups.
- Control execution flow with conditionals and looping.
- Write correct expressions.
Reporting, debugging and delivery (Domains 7, 16, 17, 18, 19)
These objectives reflect what happens after the logic works.
- Create a clutter-free report with the proper result data and configure a report.
- Debug broken or error sequences.
- Deploy the test system.
- Dependency management, so everything the system needs actually travels with it.
Eligibility and Recommended Experience
There are no formal prerequisites. NI does not require another certification, and no mandatory degree, fixed training-hour total or references are published. What NI does is recommend 12-18 months of developing medium- to large-scale TestStand applications. The course Developing Test Programs Using TestStand may substitute for six months of that recommended experience.
That course is preparation curriculum, not a replacement exam blueprint, and it is not evidence of exhaustive coverage or official domain weights. Use it to build skills, then verify your readiness against the preparation guide's objectives. Our CTD requirements guide and CTD training overview expand on this.
Registration, Delivery and Exam-Day Rules
Current delivery runs through Pearson VUE / OnVUE under NI's Online NI Certification Exams policy, corroborated by Pearson's NI Certification Exams page. The CTD-specific credential page describes the exam as online only. The newer general NI policy also mentions test centers subject to availability, but CTD-specific center availability was not verified, so plan on online delivery unless NI tells you otherwise. Older instructions from a previous provider (PSI) remain in circulation; treat them as a source conflict, not current authority.
Current online guidance requires:
- A private workspace
- A webcam
- A single screen
Confirm your equipment and environment well before exam day, because a four-hour practical leaves little room to troubleshoot a setup problem. For scheduling mechanics, see CTD exam dates and scheduling.
Scoring, Pass Rate and Cost Questions
| Topic | What is verified | What is not |
|---|---|---|
| Passing score | 70%; the preparation guide allocates 100 points to Functionality | Individual-domain percentages are unpublished |
| Pass rate | Nothing from the issuer | Aggregate pass rate is not publicly disclosed |
| Current fee | Nothing confirmed as current | Current USD fee and member/nonmember pricing not publicly verified |
| Historical fee | USD 299 appeared in a PSI client information sheet modified March 30, 2022 | Not a current Pearson quote |
| Obsolete figures | A 2002 requirements document lists USD 295, a 75% threshold, and a two-year cycle | Superseded; do not use |
For the 70% threshold in context, see CTD passing score. For fee details and how to budget around the missing current quote, see CTD certification cost. Confirm the current price on NI's or Pearson's registration page before you commit.
Validity and Renewal
The credential is valid for three years, corroborated by NI's Training and Certification Catalog (2026 Edition). Under NI's Recertification Policy and Process (updated April 30, 2026), you can renew by either:
- Retaking the CTD exam, or
- Earning 50 NI-approved TestStand activity points during the active certification cycle.
Points do not carry over between cycles, so plan your activity within the three-year window rather than banking points early. If you remember the older two-year cycle, that is obsolete; the three-year interval is current.
Who Benefits and What the Evidence Says
CTD is aimed at engineers and developers who build and maintain automated test systems in TestStand: test engineers, automation developers, and those working for integrators or in-house test teams. Because the exam is a practical demonstration, it signals hands-on capability rather than familiarity with terminology, which is what a hiring manager building a test system actually wants to see.
On compensation, be careful. No current CTD-only salary dataset or independently established certification premium was verified. General test-engineering salary data is not the same as evidence about this credential, and we will not invent a figure. Our analyses in the CTD salary guide, is the CTD certification worth it and CTD jobs explain how to weigh value qualitatively.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
Generic study advice matters less here than ordering the work sensibly. A practical credential rewards building muscle memory for specific TestStand tasks. One reasonable sequence, assuming you already have some TestStand experience:
Foundations of sequence structure
- Step types, step groups, flow control, expressions (Domains 12-15, 21)
- Parameters, local and FileGlobal variables (Domains 9-11)
Code modules and data
- Calling LabVIEW code modules and passing custom data types (Domains 1, 2, 4)
- Shared memory and parallel execution (Domains 3, 20)
Customization and output
- Model and engine callbacks (Domains 5, 6)
- Subsequences, report configuration and clean results (Domains 7, 8, 16)
Delivery and full rehearsal
- Debugging, deployment and dependency management (Domains 17-19)
- Two timed four-hour runs of the SP25 Solar Panel sample, using only built-in Help and examples
Key Takeaway
Schedule your timed rehearsals last, and include packaging in them. A solution that works but is not saved and packaged per the exam pack's instructions does not help you. Check how hard the CTD exam is and keep the CTD cheat sheet handy for last-minute review.
Frequently Asked Questions
On this site it means Certified TestStand Developer, a National Instruments credential showing you can build working sequences in NI TestStand. It is unrelated to other credentials that share the acronym.
No. Since April 30, 2020 it has been a four-hour performance-based practical in which you develop and package a TestStand solution. Multiple-choice "exam question" products resemble the former format and do not simulate the current one.
The passing score is 70%. The preparation guide allocates 100 points to Functionality; it does not publish individual-domain percentages, and the aggregate pass rate is not publicly disclosed.
There are none formally. NI recommends 12-18 months developing medium- to large-scale TestStand applications, and the Developing Test Programs Using TestStand course may substitute for six months of that experience.
It is valid for three years. Renew by retaking the CTD exam or by earning 50 NI-approved TestStand activity points during the active cycle; points do not carry over to the next cycle.
A current USD fee and member/nonmember pricing were not publicly verified. A historical figure of USD 299 appeared in a 2022 PSI sheet, but it is not a current Pearson quote, so confirm pricing at registration.