CTD logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CTD Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • NI does not publicly disclose an aggregate CTD pass rate, so any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
  • The CTD is a four-hour practical exam where you build and package TestStand sequences; passing requires 70%.
  • The guide allocates 100 points to Functionality, not 100 questions, so score logic differs from multiple-choice exams.
  • Practical submissions can take up to four weeks to grade, so plan around that delay.

What the Data Actually Shows

If you searched for the Certified TestStand Developer (CTD) pass rate hoping for a clean number, here is the honest answer: National Instruments (NI) has not publicly disclosed an aggregate pass rate for this credential. No official percentage, no cohort breakdown, no first-attempt versus retake split. Anyone quoting a precise figure is either guessing, repurposing data from a different certification that shares the "CTD" acronym, or using a marketing number.

That absence of data is itself informative. It means the useful question changes from "what percentage of people pass?" to "what does NI say I must demonstrate, and how can I verify I can do it?" The rest of this article answers that second question using only what the issuer has published about the Certified TestStand Developer exam.

Bottom line: There is no verified CTD pass rate. What is verified is the format (four-hour, performance-based), the 70% passing threshold, the absence of formal prerequisites, and a three-year validity window. Build your preparation around those facts. For a deeper look at difficulty, see How Hard Is the CTD Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Why NI Doesn't Publish an Aggregate Pass Rate

NI has not stated its reasons, so any explanation is inference rather than fact. But the structure of the exam offers clues about why a single headline number would be less meaningful than it is for a multiple-choice test.

The exam is practical, not question-based

Since the format change on April 30, 2020, the CTD has been a four-hour performance-based exam. Candidates develop TestStand sequences inside an NI-provided virtual machine, then complete, save and package their submission. There is no fixed question count and no scored/unscored item split. A "pass rate" for a practical build exam depends heavily on who sits it and how prepared they are, which makes a single figure hard to interpret.

The candidate pool is self-selected

There is no prerequisite certification and no mandatory degree. NI recommends 12 to 18 months developing medium- to large-scale TestStand applications, and the course Developing Test Programs Using TestStand may substitute for six months of that recommended experience. Because candidates choose whether to attempt the exam based on their own readiness, any observed pass rate would reflect that self-selection more than the intrinsic difficulty of the material.

Grading is manual and delayed

NI's current online guidance says practical submissions can take up to four weeks to grade. Results are not instant. That alone changes the experience compared with exams that return a score on the spot, and it is a reason to treat the exam as a project delivery rather than a quiz.

How to Read Vendor Pass-Rate Claims

Search results for CTD preparation are crowded with third-party products. In a sample of observed search competitors, several sell multiple-choice "practice exams" or "real exam questions" for the CTD. Treat the following with caution:

  • Success-rate claims are marketing, not issuer data. A vendor stating that a high share of its customers pass is describing its own customers, not the candidate population NI evaluates.
  • Multiple-choice products resemble the former exam format. The current CTD is a four-hour practical. A question bank cannot simulate building, debugging and packaging a sequence under time pressure.
  • User-uploaded documents are unverified. Content posted to document-sharing sites has no issuer review and may reflect the old format entirely.
  • Some listings are placeholders. At least one observed page carried an on-demand or unreleased-product notice, meaning the advertised content may not exist yet.
A practical filter: Before trusting any resource, ask whether it makes you build something in TestStand against a clock. If it only asks you to pick answers, it is training the wrong skill for a practical exam. Our CTD practice test hub explains what each resource type can and cannot do for you.

What NI Does Publish: The 70% Threshold and Format

While the pass rate is undisclosed, the passing standard and structure are documented.

ElementWhat NI documents
FormatFour-hour, performance-based practical exam
Passing score70%
Scoring basisPreparation guide allocates 100 points to Functionality
Question countNot applicable; practical build
PrerequisitesNone formal; 12 to 18 months of TestStand development recommended
ValidityThree years
RenewalRetake CTD or earn 50 NI-approved TestStand activity points in the cycle
DeliveryPearson VUE / OnVUE under NI's online exam policy
Grading timeUp to four weeks for practical submissions

One subtlety deserves emphasis: the 100 points are allocated to Functionality. This is not "100 questions," and the guide does not publish per-domain percentages or identify a highest-weighted topic. If you want the full breakdown of how scoring works, read CTD Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Where Candidates Likely Lose Points

Because NI publishes no failure analytics, the following is reasoned from the objectives themselves and from candidate discussion on NI's forums, which reflect individual experiences rather than issuer policy. The 21 official objectives are unweighted, so assume any of them can cost you points. The groupings below help you organize practice around the way the work actually flows during a build.

Code module integration (Domains 1 to 3)

Calling LabVIEW code modules, passing custom data types to and from them, and managing shared memory between TestStand and code modules.

  • Confirm parameter mapping in both directions before moving on.
  • Treat data type mismatches as a first debugging suspect.
  • Remember that externally prepared VIs are prohibited; the supplied LabVIEW driver libraries simulate hardware.

Data modeling and callbacks (Domains 4 to 6)

Creating custom data types, overriding and using model callbacks, and overriding and using engine callbacks.

  • Callbacks are easy to configure incorrectly and hard to notice until execution.
  • Know which callback layer (model versus engine) you are modifying and why.

Sequence structure and variables (Domains 8 to 11)

Calling a sub-sequence, and the proper use of parameters, local variables and FileGlobal variables.

  • Scope errors are a classic source of lost functionality.
  • Choose the narrowest scope that does the job.

Step types, groups and flow (Domains 12 to 15)

Using two or more test step types (Pass/Fail, Numeric, String), three or more non-code-module step types (Wait, Flow, Property Loader), step groups, and execution flow control such as if/else and looping.

  • Show variety deliberately; the objectives name minimum counts of step types.
  • Verify flow logic by running edge cases, not just the happy path.

Reporting, deployment and debugging (Domains 7, 16 to 19)

Creating a clutter-free report with proper result data, configuring a report, deploying the test system, managing dependencies, and debugging broken or error sequences.

  • Reporting and deployment are easy to postpone and then rush. Reserve time for them.
  • Dependency gaps can make an otherwise correct sequence fail on another machine.

Parallelism and expressions (Domains 20 and 21)

Executing simple code modules in parallel, and writing expressions.

  • Keep parallel code modules simple and verify they actually run concurrently.
  • Expression syntax slips are cheap to fix if you test as you go.

For a domain-by-domain walkthrough, see CTD Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 21 Content Areas.

Readiness Signals You Can Measure Yourself

Without a published pass rate, you need your own evidence. These signals are more reliable than any borrowed statistic because they test the actual skill the exam grades.

  1. You can complete a full build inside four hours with time to spare. Using the official sample exam ZIP (NI publishes the link, though its complete contents were not retrieved for this review), time yourself end to end, including packaging.
  2. You can map each of the 21 objectives to a concrete task you performed. If you cannot point to a sequence where you used FileGlobal variables or overrode a model callback, you have a gap.
  3. You can debug without panic. Introduce a deliberate error into a working sequence and fix it using only built-in TestStand Help, examples and templates, which are the permitted resources.
  4. You can deploy to a clean environment. A sequence that runs only on your development machine has not demonstrated deployment or dependency management.
About the SP25 sample: Candidate forum discussions identify the SP25 Solar Panel sample and note demand for additional practice material. Those posts reflect individual experiences, not NI policy, and historical complaints about a sample do not prove a current defect. Use the official sample, then supplement it by designing your own timed projects that exercise every objective.

Sequencing the 21 Objectives Over Your Prep Window

Since the objectives are unweighted, a sensible approach is to schedule by dependency: build the foundation first, then layer the pieces that depend on it. This is the only planning guidance in this article, and it is tied to the specific order in which CTD tasks build on one another.

Week 1

Foundations: variables and structure

  • Parameters, local variables, FileGlobal variables (Domains 9 to 11)
  • Sub-sequences and step groups (Domains 8, 14)
Week 2

Code module integration

  • Calling LabVIEW code modules and custom data types (Domains 1, 2, 4)
  • Shared memory and parallel execution (Domains 3, 20)
Week 3

Flow, step types and expressions

  • Step type variety and flow control (Domains 12, 13, 15)
  • Expressions (Domain 21)
Week 4

Callbacks, reporting, deployment, debugging

  • Model and engine callbacks (Domains 5, 6)
  • Report design and configuration (Domains 7, 16)
  • Deployment, dependencies and a full timed mock (Domains 17 to 19)

Adjust the length to your experience. Candidates with the recommended 12 to 18 months of hands-on development may compress this considerably; those newer to TestStand may stretch it. For a fuller plan, see CTD Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

Logistics That Quietly Affect Outcomes

Because the exam is practical and delivered remotely, process errors can cost you more than they would on a conventional test. These are drawn from NI's current online guidance.

  • Environment: You need a private workspace, a webcam and a single screen. The calculator and notepad supplied in the exam environment are permitted.
  • The VM: The exam runs in an NI-provided virtual machine containing the required software and exam files. Do not assume your usual tool configuration is present.
  • Resources: Built-in TestStand Help, examples and templates are allowed. Outside resources and externally prepared VIs are not.
  • Submission: Complete and save within the four-hour period and follow the current exam pack's packaging instructions. The preparation guide names a packaging utility, but the current pack's instructions govern the real submission.
  • Delivery channel: NI's current policy routes delivery through Pearson VUE/OnVUE. The CTD credential page describes online delivery; the general policy also mentions test centers subject to availability, but CTD-specific center availability was not verified.
  • Software baseline: The preparation guide specifies TestStand 2019 or later.

Key Takeaway

Rehearse the submission step itself. A candidate who builds a correct sequence but mishandles saving or packaging has turned good work into lost points. Check scheduling details in CTD Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling and fees in CTD Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, noting that the current USD fee is not publicly verified.

Old Figures You Should Ignore

Older documents about the Certified TestStand Developer credential still circulate, and they contain numbers that do not describe the current exam. The most common trap is an obsolete requirements document revised in 2002, which lists a 75% threshold, a two-year cycle and a fee of USD 295. Those figures are superseded. The current verified details are a 70% passing score and a three-year validity period.

Likewise, a historical USD 299 figure appears in an older proctoring vendor's information sheet from 2022. That is a historical price only, not a current quote, and it should not be treated as today's fee. The NI preparation guide itself is another source of confusion: its 2020-named file retains a 2013 copyright footer and uses inconsistent CTD/CTA/CLD labels, so rely on the exam title and surrounding context rather than stray acronyms.

Finally, the acronym itself invites mix-ups. "CTD" is used by several unrelated credentials, so make sure any pass-rate figure, salary number or exam detail you encounter actually refers to the Certified TestStand Developer credential from NI. If you are new to the term, What Is CTD Certification? clarifies exactly which credential this site covers.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the CTD pass rate in 2026?

NI has not publicly disclosed an aggregate pass rate for the Certified TestStand Developer exam. Any specific percentage you encounter is unverified. What NI does publish is a 70% passing score on a four-hour practical exam.

Is the CTD a multiple-choice exam?

No. Since April 30, 2020, it has been a four-hour performance-based exam in which you develop, complete and package TestStand sequences. Multiple-choice practice products resemble the former format and do not simulate the current practical task.

How long until I get my CTD result?

NI's current online guidance says practical submissions can take up to four weeks to grade. Plan any deadlines, such as a job application or contract start, with that delay in mind.

Do I need experience before attempting the CTD?

There are no formal prerequisites. NI recommends 12 to 18 months developing medium- to large-scale TestStand applications, and the Developing Test Programs Using TestStand course may substitute for six months of that experience. See CTD Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

How do I keep the credential after it expires?

The CTD is valid for three years. To renew, retake the exam or earn 50 NI-approved TestStand activity points during the active certification cycle; points do not carry over between cycles.

Ready to turn the 21 objectives into measurable skill? Work through targeted material on the CTD practice test site, and use the CTD Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts for a fast pre-exam refresher.

Ready to pass your CTD exam?

Put this into practice with free CTD questions across every exam domain.